• Announcements

    • EmperoR

      Dear Guests   12/24/2016

      Welcome to the GIS-AREA. like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of GIS-AREA by signing in or creating an account here. Once you have created your account and have introduced yourself to our community, you can start new topics, reply to others, subscribe interesting threads, get your customize profiles, make news friends, and others nice stuff. To make your stay as pleasant and constructive as possible, please don't forget to read through our pinned forum rules and board guidelines in each section before you do anything else.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
intertronic

panoramio service is down

2 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

I just saw a bad news for google earth enthusiastic, the panoramio service (geotagging pictures on google maps) is down, the service will be closed. 

 

Panoramio no longer available after November 4, 2016

Tip: Link your Panoramio account with your Google+ account to automatically copy your photos to the Google Album Archive and continue to share your work in Google Maps.

Back in 2014, we announced our intention to retire Panoramio in order to invest our efforts into improving photo-sharing experiences directly inside Google Maps. In response to your feedback, we postponed these plans and worked to add features to Maps that better support the level of engagement that you have enjoyed with Panoramio. Today, with photo upload tools in Google Maps and our Local Guides program, we are providing easy ways for you to share your photos with an active and growing community. As such, we’ve decided to move forward with closing down Panoramio. To make this transition easier, we’ll provide several options to continue sharing photos through other services. If you choose, you can also export all your data and take it somewhere else.

If you have linked your Panoramio profile with a Google account, all your Panoramio photos will be copied to the Google Album Archive at full resolution after Panoramio goes away. These copied photos will not use any of your Google storage quota. Your Panoramio photos that appear in Google Maps will continue to appear in Maps, unless you delete them later from the Maps Contributions panel. Note: You must link your Panoramio profile with a Google+ account for your photos to be automatically copied.

After November 4, 2016, you’ll continue to have access to your photos in Panoramio for a year, but you will no longer be able to add new photos, likes, or comments. Below, we’ve included resources to help you manage or export your data.

Tip: Although you’ll no longer be able to create new accounts, upload your photos, comment or like other content in Panoramio after November 4, 2016, you’ll still have access to your photos and be able to export your data until November 2017. After that, if your Panoramio account is linked with a Google account, we'll copy your photos to the Google Album Archive so you can access them even after Panoramio is retired.

Keep your photos in Album Archive

If you have a Google account linked with your Panoramio account, we will automatically copy your Panoramio photos to the Google Album Archive when Panoramio is retired in November 2017.

  • You must link your profile before November 2017 for this to occur.
  • Copied photos will not use any of your Google storage quota.
  • Eligible images and your View Counts will be transferred into Google Maps and will be visible when you sign in to Maps and access the Contributions screen from the main menu. Images will only show in Google Maps if you have linked your profile with a Google+ account and you are attributing photos using your name (rather than Panoramio nickname).
Export your photos to a local zip file For Panoramio users with Google accounts:
  1. Visit takeout.google.com and follow the instructions there.
For Panoramio users who have not upgraded to a Google account:
  1. Sign in to www.panoramio.com.
  2. Go to your account’s settings page.
  3. Click the "Get photos" button under the Data Liberation heading (this is only visible to users with legacy Panoramio accounts; users with Google accounts must use takeout.google.com)
Become a Local Guide to keep contributing

To keep adding photos to Google Maps and engage with a growing community of photographers, join the Local Guides programYou can earn points and unlock rewards for photos submitted with a Google account when they are linked to a point of interest or business. Many of your Panoramio photos may already be counted.

Removing photos or deleting your account

If you prefer to no longer share your photos with Google Maps, you can delete your Panoramio photos or your entire account at any time. If you haven't linked your Panoramio account with a Google account, your Panoramio account will be deleted automatically when Panoramio is retired after November 2017. You can also choose to delete your Panoramio account (and photos) immediately by logging in, opening "Settings", and clicking the "Delete your account" option. You can also navigate to this page directly by using this link.

If you delete any photos (or delete your entire account) before Panoramio is retired in November 2017, that content will not be automatically copied to the Google Album Archive and will stop appearing in Google Maps.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

never use this, but thanks for the heads up

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0