imtest133

Dear all

I'm new in remote sensing and I have problems when try to extract built-up area from an image or during image classification.

I am using landsat 7 ETM+ and TM images, when I use supervised or un-supervised methods for image classification, urban area (built-up area) are not recognizable from bare-soil.

I read several papers about built-up Indexes and tried some of them but there is no tangible improvement in results.

Please guide me as step by step process.

Regards

hi, why do you use landsat 7 and not landsat 8? and with witch software?

here you can see the band combination for landsat 7 and 8

http://landsat.usgs.gov/L8_band_combos.php

http://web.pdx.edu/~emch/ip1/bandcombinations.html

so the band combination for TM is 1-4-7

in Landsat 7, the combination can be 7-6-4

http://www.harrisgeospatial.com/company/pressroom/blogs/tabid/836/artmid/2928/articleid/14305/the-many-band-combinations-of-landsat-8.aspx

you load every single band in ArcGIS and you do a combination

then do a classification (supervised or unsupervised)

Two major categories of image classification techniques include unsupervised (calculated by software) and supervised (human-guided) classification.

Unsupervised classification is where the outcomes (groupings of pixels with common characteristics) are based on the software analysis of an image without the user providing sample classes. The computer uses techniques to determine which pixels are related and groups them into classes. The user can specify which algorism the software will use and the desired number of output classes but otherwise does not aid in the classification process. However, the user must have knowledge of the area being classified when the groupings of pixels with common characteristics produced by the computer have to be related to actual features on the ground (such as wetlands, developed areas, coniferous forests, etc.).